Worklog for Brucey

Cutie

Return to Worklogs

Update(Posted 2007-04-14)
Finally got back to some Qt hacking.

It's been a busy old "break" it turns out, but the new modules have added a bit more depth to what's available on the website.

New in the latest release are Panel Pixmaps and Popup menus, amongst other things.
T'was a bit of digging to find out how to disable the default popup menu for text areas, but it's looking okay now.

:-)

-+ Brucey +-

Come to Brucey's Modules for useful BlitzMax Modules!! . . . See my Modules Worklog - wxMax -

* The Definitive Module List * Qt-On-BlitzMax

KitKat(Posted 2007-03-01)
Having a wee break from it for a bit, after 3 weeks of frantic keyboard tapping.

Learning a bit of SQL wrapping for now, which is a nice change, although a bit close to what I do for a living - not that I'm averse to taking work home with me from time to time ;-)

Anyways... no need to put as much time into it now that the core is basically working... (bug-fixes r us)

-+ Brucey +-

Come to Brucey's Modules for useful BlitzMax Modules!! . . . See my Modules Worklog - wxMax -

Or so he thought....(Posted 2007-02-21)
There you are, plodding along thinking how great everything is working, and then you discover to your horror that the Qt/Mac framework has been built using Carbon, rather than Cocoa!!!!

argh!!!

I can see how they decided to do it this way. For a start, Carbon is a C++ API and it would have been very easy for their developers to get into it without having to learn Object C from scratch.
However, it does make plugging the GL/Canvas stuff onto it a little on the almost impossible side, since the Max code assumes that it's working on a Cocoa widget and not a Carbon one (the two of which are not compatible!)

I've searched and searched, and can't see a way of getting an NSView onto a HIView... so I'm kind of stuck at the moment.