Newbie wants to start on IOS

Monkey Targets Forums/iOS/Newbie wants to start on IOS

Midimaster(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi,

since two years I'm now coding with Monkey on HTML5 and ANDROID, reading all relevant articles on monkeycoder, but never the IOS forum. So I can tell I'm a real newbie here.

Now my new android app Score-Trainer seems to be successful and a lot of people ask me to build an IOS version. So I plan to join the IOS world...

I have a WindowsPC with XP, a MAC MINI with OsX 10.5, and a IPad2 with WiFi. On the MAC MINI I have installed everything to build BlitzMax programs.

Here are my questions:

Is there any tutorial, about what I have to prepare to be able to start building monkey code for IPhone and Ipad?

Is the build of a "Hello World"-app the same for Iphone and Ipad?

Is there any simulator on the MAC MINI? How usable and fast is it? How do you test your apps normally?

Do I need a "IStore seller account" first to test my own apps? How to do?

Does the SDK for IOS has any sideeffects on the SDK for BlitzMax? I still need a possiblity to write BlitzMax apps on the MAC MINI.

Normally I write the app on Windows Monkey for HTML5, because the turn-around is so fast. Finally I test it on a ANDROID smartphone to find some last bugs. How big is the chance, that this code runs well on the Apple Monkey and on IOS? What are the typical problems i will run into?

therevills(Posted 2013) [#2]
From the last time I built for iOS using Monkey, all you really need is XCode on your Mac and Monkey.

Compile your app in Monkey as normal with the iOS target and Monkey will do its magic...

I can't remember if XCode opens after compile, but if it doesn't open up the XCode project Monkey generates and click the Run button in there.

The simulator is part of XCode and its super fast compared to the Android emulator!

Yes, you do need a developer account if you want to test on an actual device, but the simulator is good enough to get you started.