New to Monkey - need help!

Monkey Targets Forums/HTML5/New to Monkey - need help!

Yoda(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi guys, I'm new to Monkey and there are some things I couldn't find documented, so maybe someone can answer or help me with this:

I want to make a game running online (so html5, right?) and it should be able to save the users progress in a mysql database on the server, so he can later go back and continue where he stopped.

Is this possible? How to do it?

Thanks for your help!

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2011) [#2]
You can't do that out of the box, though maybe someone has written code or modules for it.

However, you can use SaveString() and LoadString() to serialise progress.

I honestly don't know how reliable saving this stuff on current browser platform is (it certainly works, but will deleting cookies or something kill it?) and if you are writing a very deep game you might want to give people a code they can write down for backup once in a while!

HTML5 or Flash are your two choices for browser games. HTML5 is the future, and already has some advantages, but it can be frustrating to support all the browsers out there, most of which have gaps in their support at the moment. (Chrome seems to be pretty complete.)

slenkar(Posted 2011) [#3]
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=137

this is the code you need to send a message to a php script

then the php script on your server will insert values into a database

Yoda(Posted 2011) [#4]
That looks like what I'm looking for, however I can't unpack a rar (I'm on Mac), so I tried the ajax.js (in the same directory as the monkey code), but I get an error when compiling. Where do I have to put the ajax.js file? In the modules-directory or where?

Sorry for my stupidity, but I'm not familiar with that concept yet. Had Blitzmax before and everything was quite easy.

skid(Posted 2011) [#5]
Video games by convention keep game progress files on the client computer.