Simple finger drawing app question

Monkey Targets Forums/Android/Simple finger drawing app question

Artem Kuchin(Posted 2014) [#1]
I am new to monkey-x and started with something simple to learn. Like multitouch figer drawing app.

And within and house i realised that the way i approached it is totally wrong. I just draw thick rounded lines (rectables+circle) as finger moves. All points are put into an array of point object. Each onrender clear screen and redraws all lines.
As number of lines grow this becomes painfully slow. So, basically it is impossible to fully draw the screen. Even the idea is also wrong because it will becomes slower and slower if i draw above the already drawn lines.
It is bad, because i wanted color animation on timer, but i now i see that's impossible

So, I thought that a good way will be to draw somewhere else then create an image from that and on onrender just blit the image onto the screen. So, the overhead will be always fixed and will not depend on number of lines, points.

However, i don't see any way to draw into some other buffer except the frame buffer.
So, as i see it i have only one option: create my own drawing functions (for line and circle), draw everything in an array and then writepixels into an images. OnRender just show the image.

I am correct here or there is some other way?

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2014) [#2]
I think you have to do a mixture of both.

Periodically (probably when the user finishes a painting motion) you can load the contents of the back buffer into an image.

Then, when the user is doing an actual painting action, you draw the saved image to the screen, and then overlay the circles, lines etc. from the new painting action (as you are doing now). Then you can forget about all the stored individual items (except when making an Undo system).

When he lifts his finger, again you copy from the back buffer to the current image and clear the stored actions, and so on,

Artem Kuchin(Posted 2014) [#3]