Module Development.

Monkey Targets Forums/Android/Module Development.

debonzi(Posted 2014) [#1]
Hi everyone,

I am looking forward to implements some modules that I really miss for my ideas on game development, but as I am pretty new to monkey I have some open points to figure out.

Well, let's go for the question.

I notice that if I create the following directory structure inside <MonkeyProXX>

/modules
- mymodule
- mymodule.monkey
/native
-mymodule.java
-modulelib.jar

I automaticaly get modulelib.jar placed under libs on my application build folder and code from mymodule.java included into MonkeyGame.java.

So far so good.
But I also would like to add a file, lets say mymodule.xml in a way that after code update, it would appear into MyApp.build/android/res/values/ .

Is monkey prepared in a way to have this behavior?
I've tried to create a native/res/values/mymodule.xml inside my module folder hoping it would be automaticaly copied into the build folder but I got no luck on that.

Does anyone know about it or have any page describing "module development for Monkey"?

Regards,

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2014) [#2]
the jar file is copied over? that's good, i never knew that.

you could also try using
'' mymodule.monkey
import "mymodule.xml"

''the rest of your module here

which will copy that file to the build/data folder (assets/monkey on android). does that work?

another way is manually add it to the TARGET/template folder. (which is a bit cumbersome, but easy to create a new target, just by copying the original target and renaming it.) you'd also use this option for more advanced things that require specific compiler builds, or even specific mods to source code.

MikeHart(Posted 2014) [#3]
I am surprised by the native folder being copied too. Are you sure about that? It would be a hidden functionality. Or are you adding these files via the #libs statement in your code?

Danilo(Posted 2014) [#4]
@MikeHart: