Error when building

Monkey Targets Forums/Android/Error when building

Shane(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi,

Im new to Monkey and am getting the following error when trying to build and run to Android.

TRANS Failed to execute 'adb start-server', return code=1
'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

Any ideas what i've done wrong?

Shane

therevills(Posted 2011) [#2]
Have you installed the Android SDK?

Shane(Posted 2011) [#3]
Yes have installed it.

therevills(Posted 2011) [#4]
Pointed your config.winnt.txt to the installed location?

ANT_PATH=
ANDROID_PATH=
JDK_PATH=

Shane(Posted 2011) [#5]
Yes. Any ideas?

Shane(Posted 2011) [#6]
This is where I am pointing to :

ANDROID_PATH="${PROGRAMFILES}\Android\
JDK_PATH="${PROGRAMFILES}\Java\jdk1.6.0_21\"
ANT_PATH="${SYSTEMDRIVE}\apache-ant-1.8.2\"

skid(Posted 2011) [#7]
There's a quotes missing after \Android\ ?

therevills(Posted 2011) [#8]
On my machine at home the {PROGRAMFILES} and {SYSTEMDRIVE} doesnt seem to work right so I put in the full path:

ANDROID_PATH="C:\Program Files\Android\"

Shane(Posted 2011) [#9]
I checked the file the quote was there. Do I need a server running? What directory is the server located?

Shane(Posted 2011) [#10]
I tried changing to c:\program files etc and still no difference. It seems to find the directories otherwise 'ANDROID' will not appear as a build and run option.

therevills(Posted 2011) [#11]
Hmmmmm .... reboot?

Try this guide:
http://modmymobile.com/forums/3883156-post1.html

Aman(Posted 2011) [#12]
I don't think it's a problem with monkey.

Did you add the path of your android sdk tool to the Enviroment variables?
Did you run the SDK Manager and added a virtual device?

Open cmd and type adb. If it didn't get recognized, then it is not added to the enviroment variables path.

Stay in cmd and type:
cd C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools
then try to run adb from their