Benchmark for Monkey

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Projects/Benchmark for Monkey

Duke87(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi Guys, my name is Stephan Duckerschein, I'm from Germany and new to the Community :D.
Well I'm not a professionell programmer, just doing as a Hobby.
But in the Future I want to understand a little bit more the theoretical-stuff, therefor i started reading books esp. from "GalileoComputing" and some OOP-Tutorials
(Just coded some Games Like: Quizz, Bomberman, Pong, Tower Defense in BlitzBasic and BlitzMax).

Yesterday I had a little idea about making kind of benchmark for the Monkey-Community. So i just started programming (with no planning).

My Aim is not a benchmark for the power of PC-Processors. I want to compare the speed of different targets by using the same Code.
(for example: how long does it need to Add/multiply/divide/substract numbers within a For-loop), display primitives and update their movement/shape). Maybe it will help you to decide when to use List/Maps ..., locals/globals, Classes, and so on.

I have coded 8 Tests yet
1. uses global declared variables
2. uses locals ...
3. uses functions with global var. as params
4. uses functions with local declared vars.
5. uses a static-class with only static variables/functions
6. uses an object with member-variables/methods
7. creates 1000 primitive-canvas objects (Line,Rect,Circle)

ToDo:
8. using real images with scaling, alphablending ...
9. Call a Homepage and download Data
10. writing Files
11. Compare using Lists/Maps/Arrays ...
12. Compare If/Endif, Select-Case

long term Aim:
Using the Challenger GUI for Displaying the Results.
Storeing the Results onto a Webserver with the System-Specs.

each Test runs for 1 second and counts, how many updates will be called. (therefor i set the UpdateRate to 20000
(Test#7 runs for 15 seconds, so u can se something on the screen).

I have to admit, that my Code is very nasty (some parts in german, some parts in english, no destructors included and so on).