glBlendFunc blending with mojo2

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/glBlendFunc blending with mojo2

Lucy(Posted 2015) [#1]
I am not an expert and am wondering if I can be given hints as to where to go about figuring out what I want to do

I want take an image

Cut a square of it

Apply alpha mask to it

Then get a final result I can store in memory, render to texture

I'd like to also be able to save and load these new images so that they do not have to be processed again

And then combine multiple versions of blending composites like this into a single larger texture while processing sets of files to save memory

I understand a need something like

glEnable(GL_BLEND);
glBlendFunc(GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA, GL_SRC_COLOR);
glBlendEquation(GL_FUNC_ADD);

But I'm unsure how to use these functions with mojo2
Are there features of mojo2 I am not noticing that do this?

Would doing this be possible with mojo1 too for opengl targets? As I understand it, glBlendFunc is already being used by mojo1 for rendering

nullterm(Posted 2015) [#2]
If you want to do it with blend (but no shader) then you need to tweak your star image so, instead of white-on-black and opaque, it is all white with an alpha mask with the star pixels alpha 1.0 (or 255), empty pixels alpha 0.

Something like this...

Then, in mojo2 with render to canvas/image...
1. create an image with the desired size, and a canvas for that image
2. draw your character to the image's canvas, no blending
3a. setup the blending like...
glEnable( GL_BLEND );
glBlendFuncSeparate( GL_ZERO, GL_ONE, GL_ONE, GL_ZERO );
glBlendEquation( GL_FUNC_ADD );
3b. draw your star onto the image's canvas using the blend
4. then draw the image created in step 1 wherever you need it