Is anyone making money from Monkey X based games?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Is anyone making money from Monkey X based games?

mejon(Posted 2015) [#1]
Hi, I'm new to Monkey X and I was just wondering if anyone has actually had success at generating revenue from games/apps they made with Monkey X. I had a look at the games that are listed on the official site as being ones that are produced using Monkey X. They weren't ones that I had particularly heard of, but maybe that is down to my own niavity.

I'm new to games making in general, although I have worked a little with Corona SDK before. If anyone has any tips about how to go about generating revenue, and could pass that on, that would be helpful. Also, is it possible to make a hit game using Monkey X?

Danilo(Posted 2015) [#2]
mejon wrote:
Also, is it possible to make a hit game using Monkey X?

What or whom do you want to hit? There are touch, mouse, and keyboard controls available. Do you have the Ignition X bundle (or it's successor Pyro)?

mejon(Posted 2015) [#3]
By "hit game" I mean a very popular game.

Danilo(Posted 2015) [#4]
Making a very popular game may depend more on your (teams) skills (ideas, coding, sound, graphics, usability, general appearance),
some smart (or outside-of-the-box) marketing, and probably some luck and (mere) chance.
Collegues of mine are playing aa all the time on their iPhones, having problems with levels 180+.
Very simple concept, although challenging. Gets many ordinary people hooked/addicted.
Maybe that's what you want - making an addictive and challenging game. Yes, that's possible using MonkeyX, but I think
it has not much to do with the programming language itself.

Soap(Posted 2015) [#5]
The tool doesn't really matter in making a game successful or not. Tools which target only iOS or only Windows can still be very successful.