How would you go about this ...?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/How would you go about this ...?

Lindsay(Posted 2014) [#1]
Hi everyone! I'm new to Monkey but not to programming - I started in 1980, and have used Basic, C/C++, Pascal, dBase, and about 6 other languages whose names I've long since forgotten :)

For the game I'm currently designing, I need to select a single, random string from a list of strings. I don't need that list of strings in memory - I'm only interested in one at a time.

My ideal approach would be, store them in a text file, one item per line, and just read and discard X lines until I reach the one I need.

Is there this sort of file I/O in Monkey? Can I have text files as part of the project?

Failing that -- how else could I approach it?

BTW, I'm talking about a significant list - definitely hundreds, perhaps 1,000 or more strings, which is why I don't want them all in memory all the time!

Oh, one other thing - cross platform compatibility is essential!

Thanks,
Lindsay

darky000(Posted 2014) [#2]
Yes you can do that. You can replace your variable string until it matches to the item you are searching for.

Here is a snippet of a code I quickly did. You can also change all items to ToUpper() to check the item regardless if the item searched is capitalized or not. You can do your own foolproof but this should work.

Field itemTxt
Method LoadItemList:Int()
	itemTxt = LoadString("item.txt") 'This loads the .txt

If itemTxt.IsEmpty() Then
		Error("No File list is found")
	Endif

Return 0
End Method

Method GetItem:Int(searchItem:String)
		LoadItemList()

Local lines:String
                Local ly:Int

lines = itemtxt.Split(String.FromChar(10)) 'Will split when it finds an enter command
		ly = lines.Length()

Local num:Int = 0
		While num < ly 
			If lines[num].Compare(searchItem) = 0 Then
				Print("Do what you want with this item")
                                Exit
			Endif 

num += 1
		Wend

If num = ly Then
			Print("Item not found")