Avoiding Globals?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Avoiding Globals?

zoqfotpik(Posted 2014) [#1]
How important is it to avoid global variables, in the scale and scope of small-to-medium-size apps?

It seems to me that the ease of use for a relatively small number of global variables outweighs headaches associated with them, many of which aren't likely to crop up for our applications (multithreading, etc.)

This is just something I've been doing for 35 years now and it doesn't really seem like the end of the world that a lot of people have claimed it to be. Obviously you don't want all of your variables to be global, but for variables that are accessed by almost everything, what is the harm really?

therevills(Posted 2014) [#2]
For a personal project, globals IMHO aren't an issue, but for a shared API or business app you want your modules to be self containing as much as possible with best OO practice.

zoqfotpik(Posted 2014) [#3]
That's pretty much what I thought. I know enough about software engineering to be very concerned about breaking Great Edicts like that one, but as we know, a lot of the things they teach in the Ivory Tower are unhelpful, unnecessary or worse down in the trenches. For me this seems to be a production speed thing. Any suggestions for how to manage variables better?

therevills(Posted 2014) [#4]
You could use a class full of static (global) fields, or an interface (not sure if that would work in monkey).

[Code]Class Globals
Global gravity: Float = 9.81
End [/code]

Paul - Taiphoz(Posted 2014) [#5]
I tend to abuse globals a fair bit, I work solo so no need for me to worry about other programmers messing things up, having a global class could be handy tho.

zoqfotpik(Posted 2014) [#6]