Game Sales and Monetization

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Game Sales and Monetization

blabz(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi All -

I've been programming with BRL products for the last 6 years though I've never published anything (yet) I wanted to know what experiences have been like in terms of game downloads and sales.

What type/kind of games have you published?

How much profit is generated from sales?

How much in expenses(graphics, tools, etc) do you usually spend to develop your game?

How much time is spent developing your game?

What techniques do you employ to market your game?

I guess what I'd like to know is if it's possible to make a living off of writing games? If it's highly unlikely how much is usually made, what's the hours of development to return ratio?

I know this is all very subjective but I'd love to hear what experiences have been like so far.

Thanks!

arawkins(Posted 2013) [#2]
Hey blabz. Here's my experience so far, for what it's worth. I've been working at making games for about 7 years, for myself and for clients. I've been programming with Monkey for about a year and a half, and was using Flash before that. I got started using Monkey when I started looking for an option to bring some of my flash games to ios and android.

So far only one with Monkey:
http://www.rawkins.com/dolphin-up

It varies from month to month. It's not enough for me to develop games full time, but it helps a lot. I would say it currently generates about 1/3 of my income, with the rest coming from contract work.

How much in expenses(graphics, tools, etc) do you usually spend to develop your game?

I use adobe creative cloud, dropbox, Jungle IDE, texture packer, and of course Monkey. A windows laptop, and a mac mini for ios dev, ipad + ipod + htc android phone for testing. I would guess about $2000, roughly? I occasionally buy stock art, but try to do most of it myself.