Click&Drag to show image larger than the display

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Click&Drag to show image larger than the display

Arabia(Posted 2013) [#1]
I'm only starting out and haven't probably read enough to be attempting this, my attempts to do this are not going well and I thought that this is probably a simple thing and I'm just missing something.

Here is what I've got - (the image "backImage.PNG" is a 1024x768 image).

Strict

Import mojo

Class myGame Extends App

Global backImage:Image
Global x:Int = 0
Global y:Int = 0

Method OnCreate:Int()

SetUpdateRate 60
	backImage = LoadImage("backImage.png")
	Return True

End Method

Method OnUpdate:Int()

If MouseDown()
		x = MouseX()
		y = MouseY()
	End If
	Return True

End Method

Method OnRender:Int()

Cls
	DrawImage backImage, x, y
	Return True

End Method

End Class

Function Main:Int()

New myGame
	Return True

End Function

So this works, except the it draws the image where the mouse is currently at, so if I click at 100,100, then the top if the image is at 100,100.

What I'm trying to do is draw the image at the offset from which I first click - so that if I click at 100,100 and then move the mouse around (or your finger on a tablet) then it will redraw the picture at an offset of -100, -100 until you release the mouse.

I know how to write this code in BlitzMax, but as far as I can ascertain, I can't do it the way I'm trying (saving the values of the initial MouseDown() ) in the OnUpdate Method because this method is called for each click of the Update Timer and it clobbers my previously stored values for where the initial click was.

I did search the forums, but didn't turn anything up.

Hope this makes sense.

Midimaster(Posted 2013) [#2]
you should store the mouse in the moment, when it is pressed first. As long as these value is not zero, you should not store it again. If the Mouse is not longer pressed, set this values to zero again:

Strict
Import mojo

Class Game Extends App