Curve Angle

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Curve Angle

monotonic(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi All,

I'm new to Monkey but have been using various different engines for a few years now.

I'm currently working a car game and have hit a bit of a wall. I need to smoothly rotate from one angle to another, in other engines I would use something like Lerp (3D) or CurveAngle. I cannot seem to find a similar function in Monkey.

Say my (top down 2D) car is facing 45 degress and my next waypoint is at 90 degress, how would I smoothly rotate the angle?

Thanks in advance.

Amon(Posted 2013) [#2]
Sin/Cos/Atan/Atan2

Search for those commands.

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2013) [#3]
it's called "tweening" for 2d.

check out monkey/bananas/skn3/tweening
or
diddy
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=4589
or
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=4173
or box2d
https://code.google.com/p/monkeybox2d/

silentshark(Posted 2013) [#4]
Hi Monotonic,

Might have misunderstood.. can't you just have a variable for the angle, increment it in the OnUpdate loop, then use the rotation parameter to DrawImage in your OnRender loop?

monotonic(Posted 2013) [#5]
Sin/Cos/Atan/Atan2

Search for those commands.

Calculating the angle is not a problem, I got my head around basic trigonometry many moons ago.

it's called "tweening" for 2d.

check out monkey/bananas/skn3/tweening

Tweening! That is what I was looking for, I'm used to working in 3D so was searching for things like 2D Lerp and 2D Interpolation which returned nothing useful. Thank you.

ziggy(Posted 2013) [#6]
That's it:
Function Lerp:Float(value1:float, value2:float, speed:float)
	Local dif:Float = value2 - value1
	speed = Abs(speed)
	If Abs(dif) < speed Then Return value2
	Return value1 + speed * Sgn(value2 - value1)
End

You can also use non lienar interpolation for "slowly stopping" interpolation:

Function Eerp:Float(value1:float, value2:float, speed:float)
	Local dif:Float = value2 - value1