Noob question about text input and buttons

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Noob question about text input and buttons

Neil(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hello

I am very new to Monkey and just trying out my fist code (I have a background in VB.NET).

I want to target Android and iOS platforms and I need a single textbox with a submit button. When the textbox is touched I would like a (native) keyboard to appear to allow text to be typed and then the submit button can be touched when finished.

I have searched these forums and looked at various modules but I have to admit I am very confused.

I would really appreciate any pointers to how I can accomplish this.

Later I will also need some sort of drop down menu that will work with Android/iOS.

Many thanks for any help!

ElectricBoogaloo(Posted 2013) [#2]
I should warn you, right off the bat, that Monkey is targeted at Game development, and anything GUI driven is probably better off being done elsewhere.
That's not to say you can't do it, but if you're expecting to "place button, insert text area, accept input" you're going to be going the long way around.

Buttons can either be pre rendered as sprites, or drawn using the Rect, Oval commands.
Once tapped, you should use the EnableKeyboard() command to pop up the keyboard, and then attempt to use the available GetChar commands to read the input, but like I said, this is very much the long way around. It's going to take some work to get it looking like a proper part of the OS, let alone the fact that you won't have any easy way to copy&paste.

Monkey can achieve many things, and I'm sure someone has probably already attempted to create a "real OS GUI" thing, but I imagine anything like that would be target specific, and not so easily multi-target usable.
... But I'm not sure Monkey is the right language to do what you're expecting it to do.

Unless you rethink things in a more game-centric way, you're going to be stumbling over the same issues again and again.