Is it possible to make a Xml/db driven app?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Is it possible to make a Xml/db driven app?

Thursten(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi, i am new to monkey and blitz. I picked monkey because it is exportable to different platforms and because i was interested in game development. On my job i do Php development with zend framework doctrine etc.

Now i have read somewhere that monkey can be used to make normal apps and not only games.
I was wondering how some1 would accomplish this and if it is possible to make apps that are xml file driven or database driven?

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2013) [#2]
I was wondering how some1 would accomplish this and if it is possible to make apps that are xml file driven or database driven?

Monkey does not have any database modules for multiple targets yet.

You can do XML as there is a native Monkey XML and a native Filestream module. Please note that file writing is NOT available on web based targets (Flash & HTML5) because of security issues.

For making an "App" vs a game, well, Monkey does not use native UI functions, but you can make your own using a module like JungleGUI. Monkey doesn't tap into the functionality of mobile for data exchange things like maps, contacts, etc. or things on the desktop like clipboard.

Thursten(Posted 2013) [#3]
Ok, Thx for the response, i will look into JungleGUI to see what the possibilitys are.

ziggy(Posted 2013) [#4]
Thurten: JungleGui is still in VERY early development. Not even a first Milestone has been completed. I do honestly think the basis of it are very solid, and the design of the control structures is based on several GUIs I've designed before. I think it will be on production quality in some months (hopefully) but everything in the lib is highly subject to change and, also, the set of currently available controls is rather small.

Thursten(Posted 2013) [#5]