Live coding

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Live coding

fictorial(Posted 2013) [#1]
I am new to Monkey and understand that given the source-to-source translation workflow, that live-coding isn't likely doable at this point. But, perhaps I'm happily mistaken?

The workflow is pretty quick for HTML5 target but for say GLFW it takes about 10s to rebuild and relaunch. That can add up after a while.

I'd love to be able to tweak a variable's value and have it reflected in the running app almost instantly, without a full rebuild.

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2013) [#2]
i've been thinking about this as well. i think this is possible with html5, but the challenge is to know how to modify the trans to compile incrementally and where to inject the code. i can look into this when i have free time.

Tibit(Posted 2013) [#3]
You can change values using reflection on the fly.

However as of yet there is not a simple console or so that allows this, would be fairly straightforward to create I think. Has been on my mind tough to create one. It certainly would be handy sometimes to get/set values in run-time for debug & develop purposes.

fictorial(Posted 2013) [#4]
One way would be to embed a server component in running programs via a livecoding module. Perhaps there could be a checkbox in Ted like "enable live coding" which if checked automatically adds the livecoding module to the final app and somehow auto-starts the server.

Ted* would need to be updated to:
- add a preference to enable/disable live-coding
- automatically add the (non-existent) livecoding module to the app if livecoding pref is enabled
- determine the variables that are live-codable
- after launching the user's Monkey program, connect to the server therein over the network
- show a GUI (panel, window, whatever) with a widget per live-codable variable (e.g. slider for Int)
- on changes to the widget(s), send messages to the running program using a simple message protocol