Drag & Drop in Monkey

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Drag & Drop in Monkey

trainer(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi all,

I'm a beginner developer in Monkey Coder, and I was looking for some method or built-in function for (drag & drop) but unfortunately I couldn't find one.

In my game, the player should drag some objects, toys, from the ground and classify them, drop them, into their specific boxes:

Can anybody tell me how to do this in Monkey?
Is there any alternative code in Monkey coder that has the same functionality as (drag & drop)?

Your immediate reply is highly appreciated guys.
Thanks!

therevills(Posted 2013) [#2]
Really simply:
Each object has an x and y position
Each box has a region
When the user clicks/drags an object the object's x/y will be the same as the mouse/touch position
Once the drop happens check to see if the object's x/y is within a box's region

trainer(Posted 2013) [#3]

Really simply:
Each object has an x and y position
Each box has a region
When the user clicks/drags an object the object's x/y will be the same as the mouse/touch position
Once the drop happens check to see if the object's x/y is within a box's region

Thanks for reply,

Could you please give me a sample of code?
Or any source code has the same idea?

Paul - Taiphoz(Posted 2013) [#4]
Assuming that your using some sort of class for your items...

[monkeycode]

const held : int = 1
const dropped : int = 2

class toy
field _x:int
field _y:int
field _sprite:Image
field _status:int

method Held()
self._x = MouseX() ' or use self._x = ToushX()
self._y = MouseY() ' or touchy
end method

method draw....

method update()
'if mouse or touch is inside or over this object
'and touchdown then
self._status = 1

'else
self._status = 2
end method

[/monkeycode]