How is your dev environment setup on Mac OS?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/How is your dev environment setup on Mac OS?

Waldo Reed(Posted 2012) [#1]
I'm new to Mac OS and just got a macbook pro running mountain lion. I installed a 256GB SSD in the primary bay and will be putting the OEM 750GB hard drive in the optical bay when the caddy arrives. I've downloaded MonkeyPro66 and moved the directory to the root directory of the SSD. Is this a good location? I'll be looking into the possibility of shortcuts on the desktop and consideration to using the dock to launch Monkey and other dev tools. Your feedback is appreciated!

MikeHart(Posted 2012) [#2]
I have Monkey sitting in my desktop and have a shortcut to Ted in my dock. Also I have the monkey folder added to the sidebar of the finder window. That is all.

Shinkiro1(Posted 2012) [#3]
Hey,

Put your monkey folder somewhere in your user directory (you shouldn't put it in the root of the Macintosh HD)
Mine is in /Users/shinkiro1/Developer/monkey

If you haven't installed XCode: Download it from the appstore, then from the properties install the command line tools
Now you should be able to compile for stcpp, glfw, ios and html

Shortcuts are best kept in the dock. The desktop is more like your real desk, just keeping things you are working on currently.

I would highly recommend a texteditor like TextMate or Sublime Text 2. Both have plugins for monkey (search this forum). They just feel a lot snappier then Ted/Monk and also have much more features (+ a lot of plugins if you need them).

I use TextMate at the moment. You have the ability to create a project where you can specify a main-file that should be compiled (so you can work on another one and just compile without opening the main-file). Also code-completition is really helpful by just pressing the escape-key. And once you have mastered the shortcuts you won't need a mouse.