Methods or functions within a class

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Methods or functions within a class

KawaCoder(Posted 2012) [#1]
This is my second question here. I am still new to Monkey syntax.

As I noticed some tutorials here use functions in place of methods within a class, how does a function differ from a method?

Thanks in advance.

muddy_shoes(Posted 2012) [#2]
Methods are callable on an instance of a class while functions are called on the class itself and don't require an instance (and equally can't access instance fields or methods).

If you're familiar with Java or C# then functions are similar to static methods. In more general language terms they're class methods: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Method_(computer_programming)#Class_methods.

Jesse(Posted 2012) [#3]
a method allow direct access of fields with in a class but only when accessing through an instance.
a method also has direct access to globals and const inside and outside a class.
a method can only exist inside a class.

a function works the same way with in an class as outside the class and does not have direct access to fields of a class or a class instance.
a function inside a class has direct access to globals and const with in the inclusive class and globals and const outside any class.

example of a method
Class Add
  Field a:Int
  Field b:Int

Method New(n1:Int,n2:Int)
      a = n1
      b = n2
  End Method

Method display:Void()
      Print (a + b)
  End Method

End Class

'demonstrates example use of the Add class

Function Main()
     'creates a variable of type Add 
     Local a:Add
     'create an instance of the class Add
     a = New Add(3,5)
     'display results
     a.display()
End Function

try the example it works.

KawaCoder(Posted 2012) [#4]
Thanks, muddy_shoes!

Yes, I am familiar with both C# and Java. I'll keep in mind functions in Monkey are similar to static methods.