Whole bunch of questions...

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Whole bunch of questions...

hobo(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hello,

I am reaching a reasonably complete state of my first Monkey Game. I have been targeting HTML5 for convenience and experimented briefly with Flash and iOS targets just to check it loads.

However as a complete noob, I have a number of questions which hopefully the monkey community can help me with.

So here goes:

- When I build a flash version the graphics look rough, as in they are not anti-aliased. Is this just how the flash version will look? while the HTML5 target the graphics look crisp?

- Might be related but all my assets are .png - when I save them I set the compression level to the highest - 9. Is this the setting people are generally using?

- I want to target iPad and iPhone. Should I keep a seperate set of assets for each target? I currently receive the assets in iPad 3 resolution and convert to 640*480.

When I tested the game on iPhone it did display but is that Monkey upscaling the assets to the correct resolution?

I am also using Diddy so perhaps that is scaling?

I am slightly confused as you can tell about the best way to approach graphics for multiple targets. If anyone can explain their method I would be grateful.

- Gameplay on the different screen sizes. I noticed when I tested on the iPhone the touch screen controls were out of sync (for example touching a button on the browser version was perfect, but on the iphone I had to touch down and to the right to press the same button)

I presume this is because I have coded the gameplay to a 640*480 resolution and need separate version targeting the specific resolutions? Again any explanation or a method to manage the variations in targets would be gratefully received.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2012) [#2]