Worms-style terrain

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Worms-style terrain

misterSquare(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hi all - I'm fairly new to Monkey, so apologies in advance for any daft questions!

I'm interested in creating a Worms-style terrain engine for the game I'm currently working on - so you'd have a big land mass that you can dynamically blow chunks out of. Doing a bit of research online, and there seem to be quite a few suggested techniques for achieving this - the simplest being to punch holes in an image by explicitly masking out pixels in the source texture. Having had a dig around in the monkey code, it doesn't appear like there's any support for anything like that (ie. directly manipulating pixels in a texture) at the generic language level, although it could feasibly be added with a bit of modification to the various native platform code files.

Before I continue down this road, I was just wondering if anyone else ever tried tackling these problems in Monkey before? (either the terrain issue, or runtime texture modification). If so, do you have any advice/tips/warnings/words of wisdom?

Raz(Posted 2012) [#2]
I could be completely wrong here, but this is based on my own understanding of Monkey and the types of things I believe it can let you do (this obviously ignores modifying targets etc).

Image manipulation isn't possible.
Per pixel collisions are not possible.

You could generate a map in a 2d array and modify each pixel as required (you could artificially texture the world by applying colours to each pixel). I imagine this would be very slow to render, but would be a nice simple way of managing collisions.

You could do things in reverse. Have a solid repeating texture for the whole level/screen and then draw "holes" on top of it. All of the in game items would be free to move as long as they are overlapping a hole, if they are not, they've hit a solid edge/wall.

Over all though I wouldn't say Monkey is a realistic target (yet?) for such a game.