Resolution Neutral Apps - The best approach?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Resolution Neutral Apps - The best approach?

Rex Rhino(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hello Everyone,

I am new to Monkey (although I own just about every Blitz product and have been using them for years).

Anyway, I was wondering the best way to approach designing an app to work in all resolutions... so I can code once, and use it on Mac, PC, iPhone, and Xbox360 without changing the code.

On Mac and PC, I will default run in fullscreen with the graphics width and height set to zero (in order to use the desktop resolution). On Xbox360 I will set the resolution to 720p to scale either up or down. On iPhone I will use the native resolution.

What I would like to do, is put objects on the screen, with the center as the 0,0... have my graphics sized to be relative to the screen size... and to position them relative to screen size. That way I can layout the screen the same way on all machines (I will need to detect the graphics ratios, but that won't be a problem). However, I am open to changing that approach if there is a better way to do it.

Scaling, Rotation, Translation, all seem to work a bit different in Monkey than in BlitzMax, and I am still wrapping my head around that... I am wondering, what would be the best approach to use to scale and place relative to screen size?

What do you guys think?

Shinkiro1(Posted 2012) [#2]
Hey, and welcome to the monkey board :)

Using scaling, translation and rotation isn't that different than in BMax.
The only real difference is that you use a PushMatrix() before any of these commands and after a PopMatrix(). Look in the docs for more info.

A good way to render generally is to use a Camera Class (you have to write it yourself).
Then Render every object in relation to that camera.
For the Screen ratio thing take a look at the Autofit Demo located in the bananas folder of your Monkey directory.

GfK(Posted 2012) [#3]