Post to facebook walls from your application

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Post to facebook walls from your application

Fryman(Posted 2012) [#1]
Edit: I made some changes to the code, the popup problem in my post below is fixed in this version and a popup should be generated
regardless of sitting in an iframe I also added the ability to change the caption.

This is a copy of the code I wrote in my alphaburn game.
I am a beginner so criticize at will hopefully encourage some improvements because this is Ugly

Anyway you can import it into your applications and then use the 2 methods to post to peoples facebook walls.
It requires you to register your app on facebook in order to work how I intended.

It requires a small initial setup in OnCreate and also the fabulous Diddy module

put this in your main class

Class Game extends DiddyApp
Field Facebook:FacebookObject

Method OnCreate()
Facebook = New FacebookObject
Facebook.SetupApp([FBAppID],[AppName],[LogoImageURL],[AppURL])
End

To post a message use
(using fields from code above)

Facebook.WallPost([Caption],[Message],[PopupT/F])

This is the full module code

Import diddy

Class FacebookObject
Field varAppID:String = ""
Field varAppRedir:String = ""
Field varAppLogo:String = ""
Field varAppName:String = ""
Field varAppURL:String = ""

Method WallPost(Caption:String,Message:String,Popup:Bool)

If varAppID <> "" Then 
Local lvarDisplayType:String

If Popup = True Then lvarDisplayType="popup" Else lvarDisplayType = "page"
	LaunchBrowser("https://www.facebook.com/dialog/feed?app_id="+varAppID+"&link="+varAppURL+"&picture="+varAppLogo+"&name="+ varAppName + "&caption="+Caption+"&description="+Message+"&redirect_uri="+ varAppURL+"&display="+lvarDisplayType,Popup)
Else
	Error("FACEBOOK MODULE ERROR: Cannot send message, the fb application settings are incorrect")
EndIf
End Method

Method SetUpApp:int(AppID:String,AppName:String,AppLogoURL:String,AppURL:String)

'Sanatise inputs and display errors

'Sanitise AppID