End or End Method?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/End or End Method?

Blute(Posted 2011) [#1]
I am new to Monkey and thought I give it a go. I am choosing to use TextMate as my text editor (thanks Matt). Code folding works if I use the "Method...End Method" form but does not work with the "Method...End" form. Monkey seems to work either way. Is there a difference between forms and is one being depreciated?

GfK(Posted 2011) [#2]
There's no difference. Don't know if the longer method is deprecated but that's how I do it as it makes code more readable.

therevills(Posted 2011) [#3]
I actually prefer just "End" ;)

Monkey accepts the following:
* End
* EndMethod
* End Method

Which IMHO is too many... it should only allow one not threeboth!!

Goodlookinguy(Posted 2011) [#4]
It's a code stylistic choice. Also, Monkey doesn't allow "EndMethod." It throws an error for me. Unless that's a bug.

therevills(Posted 2011) [#5]
Opps yeah you are right... I was thinking of BlitzMax and the IFs.

Monkey accepts the following closing commands for IFs:
* End
* EndIf
* End If

ziggy(Posted 2011) [#6]
AFAIK None is deprecated. I preffer the longer form when I don't have to type it all, as it makes code clearer to me.

Blute(Posted 2011) [#7]
Thanks all. Although it is a bit more typing I will stick with the longer form as it seems more 'proper' somehow and code folding works in TextMate.

Jesse(Posted 2011) [#8]
I also think it makes code clearer to me.

therevills(Posted 2011) [#9]
as it seems more 'proper'

Since I code mostly in Java at work I find it less "proper" ;)

In Java "}" is used for "End" for Ifs, Loops, Classes, Methods etc:

Class Foo {
	private int x;

public void setX(int x)	{
		if (x < 10) {
			this.x = 0
		} else {
			this.x = x
		}
	}
}

Jesse(Posted 2011) [#10]
LOL!

since it's a derive from basic(?) and we have stuff like this:

repeat /until, while/wend, for/next

to me it makes since to follow it with it's corresponding counter part.