oo basics

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/oo basics

matty(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hello all, I have been a procedural programmer for many years and have just begun my oo experience with monkey.

I will have many things to learn but my first query is this-
If I have a class which I use as a template for different creatures and a separate class extending that for each instance, is there a way to automatically populate the fields of the instance with those of the template. And am I going about this in the appropriate way in an oo environment. Typically I read in from text files all the creature templates and use these templates as a base to generate the individual instances.

This was sent from my phone so please excuse errors in punctuation.

From Matt.

slenkar(Posted 2011) [#2]
yes, you create a method in creature
Class creature

Method init()
self.hit_points=30
End Method

End Class

and then create individual creatures
Class ork extends creature
Method init()
Super.init()
self.teeth=48
End Method
End Class

local o:ork=new ork
o.init()

JIM(Posted 2011) [#3]
Well, since there's no reflection and no memcpy, there's no way to do this automatically.

However, I would keep a "pointer" (note that I mean a reference by this) to the template in each instance and use those whenever needed. In addition, any variables that may change should be cloned in the instance.

Here's what I mean:

Type CreatureTemplate

Field MaxHP:Int
Field Sprite:Image
Field Name:String
Field IsFlying:Bool

End

Type CreatureInstance

Field Template:CreatureTemplate
Field MyPos:Float[2]
Field MyHP:Int
Field MyPersonalAwesomenessIndex:Float

Method New(templ:CreatureTemplate)

Self.Template = templ

End

End

Now, to create some fierce enemies, you just call:

Global DestroyerOfWorlds:CreatureInstance = new CreatureInstance(BunnyTemplate)
Global AnihilatorOfRealms:CreatureInstance = new CreatureInstance(ButterflyTemplate)