Interface/module issue

Monkey Forums/Monkey Programming/Interface/module issue

TwistedSage(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi. I'm new to Monkey and I've ran into an issue with interfaces and imports.

If I create a module with an interface and another with an implementation class and I import both and then try to create an instance of the object it says it can't be found.

Thanks in advance :)

OJ

Sample code below (code to reproduce)

test.monkey
Strict

Import testinterface
Import testclass

' Main app entry point
Function Main:Int()

Local tc:TestInterface = New TestClass
	tc.Test

End

testinterface.monkey
Interface TestInterface

Method Test:Void()

End

testclass.monkey
Class TestClass Implements TestInterface

Method Test:Void()		

End
End

Rixarn(Posted 2011) [#2]
Not sure, because i donīt have monkey right now... but try adding an import.testinterface in the testclass.monkey file

TwistedSage(Posted 2011) [#3]
Already tried that. No go :(

Also, I suspect Monkey just expands include files directly in the source, so it should be alright without the import ;)

TwistedSage(Posted 2011) [#4]
Already tried that. No go :(

Also, I suspect Monkey just expands include files directly in the source, so it should be alright without the import ;)

TwistedSage(Posted 2011) [#5]
Edit causes doublepost? That's odd ;)

TwistedSage(Posted 2011) [#6]
Wierd stuff is going on here. Now it works for my example.
I shuffled some code around and added an 'Import testinterface' to the testclass.monkey file. And now it works?

Another related issue I found is that I get the same error if I try to use uppercase in modules (even on windows).

There is definitely something going on with class/modules/casing here :)

Could it be that naming your module the same as your class causes trouble?

Fact: You need to import interfaces in the module file containing your class.

Problem solved for now. Thank you :)

Dima(Posted 2011) [#7]