Gamemaker part of Humble Bundle this week!

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Discussion/Gamemaker part of Humble Bundle this week!

silentshark(Posted 2015) [#1]
My lad spotted this, and is busy downloading GameMaker (maybe he will get persuaded about Monkey at some point later)..

But it did make me think - what about getting Monkey into the "Humble Bundle" weekly deal. It might just catapult numbers into the sky!

https://www.humblebundle.com/weekly

(The GameMaker site seems to have gone down with all the folks trying to download. Lol, as my lad would say).

Cheers,
Tom

nullterm(Posted 2015) [#2]
Hopefully they sort out the server issue. I bought the bundle and would like to check it out. I want a non-coding game building tool to play with, Construct 2 was pretty cool but meh. Think I'm a born n bred coder, C++ and Monkey for me.

GarBenjamin(Posted 2015) [#3]
I checked out GameMaker a year or so back and didn't care for all of the GUI push button based development. This new visual design style is just very alien to me. It seemed more visually oriented than Unity even. Logically, you'd think such things should be ideal for doing some rapid prototyping but yet when I mess with such things it takes far more time than I could just code it up. Still, I grabbed it from Humble for $12. Maybe having the source for several full games will make it click for me.

Really I think it's hard to get faster development speed than simply using Monkey X, GLBasic or HaxeFlixel and getting to work hitting the keyboard.

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2015) [#4]
It's a matter of programming style. Probably for many of us here a GUI is awkward and limiting, but for others it is much easier and actual programming is baffling.

Milky Joe(Posted 2015) [#5]
I tried GM, but the lack of even the most basic of OO concepts left me cold (and with a hard to maintain code base - spaghetti code).

MikeHart(Posted 2015) [#6]
Milky Joe. I disagree.

GarBenjamin(Posted 2015) [#7]