Rooting tablet and Monkey-X. Best low end tablet?

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Discussion/Rooting tablet and Monkey-X. Best low end tablet?

Richard Betson(Posted 2015) [#1]
Hi,

I am about to purchase a lower end quad core Android tablet (my first) and have a few questions on how to install a Monkey-X app onto it.

How do you get an app on to your tablet (best method) locally?
Do I need to "Root" (super user access) the tablet to run an Monkey-X app locally?

This is my first Android device (believe it or not) and I am a total newbie on just what to do and what to expect development wise.

Also I am looking at several lower end tablets in the quad core range. What would you recommend? So far these look good for the price:
Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 10.1" Tablet 16GB - 1280 x 800 289.00 Walmart (local store)
ASUS MeMO Pad 10 ME102A 16gb - 1280 x 800 - 199.00 Tiger Direct / Best Buy
Acer - Iconia - 10.1" - 32GB - 1920 x 1200 - 249.00 Best Buy

If you have a tablet recommendation please let me know. I'm looking for a baseline development lower end tablet, quad core and a resolution of 1280 x 800 or better.

Thanks.

Soap(Posted 2015) [#2]
You don't need to root as long as it allows 3rd party sources for APKs. Most devices do.

If you want device recommendations would probably better to ask on an Android specific forum. http://www.reddit.com/r/pickanandroidforme

Richard Betson(Posted 2015) [#3]
No root need. Awesome.

I'm looking for something along the lines what is everyone else using or want to get in the way of a tablet. A more general, "hey this tablet rocks for the price and is great for testing apps" kind of response. ;)

Richard Betson(Posted 2015) [#4]
Hi,

I bought an RCA (ya really an RCA) 11.6", quad core (1.4mhz), 1Gb sys-ram, 32Gb storage with keyboard for $170 at Walmart. Has micro HDMI, USB and SD.
http://www.rcatablets.com/tablets/11-maven-pro