Any "serious" project done with Monkey X?

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Discussion/Any "serious" project done with Monkey X?

McValdemar(Posted 2015) [#1]
Hi,
I'm a long time coder of BlitzMax and I wanted to start prototyping my new game and I was thinking that Monkey X could be a better idea due to the fact that should be easier to bring the results on different platforms.

But a rule I always used is to check what "big things" have been done before with the language to understand if the capability is already there.

And while on BlitzMax we've seen things like Eschalon saga...
...here I see a worring list of basic basic flash like little games.

Is there any example of "big project" done with this Monkey?
Or is better to stick with BlitzMax or, think big, and move to Unity?

Unity would be the safe bet but probably would take a huge investment to learn it.

MikeHart(Posted 2015) [#2]
The biggest one I think is New Star Soccer.

http://awards.bafta.org/award/2013/games/sports-fitness

Considering its success, I think you can call that serious.

McValdemar(Posted 2015) [#3]
First of all thanks Mike for the suggestion.
I saw 2/3 videos on YouTube and to me looks a cool idea but not a "big game" behind it.
Visually is prehistoric and looks really more something of a flash game than a big pc project.

But happy to see that a cool idea can get so much attention.

Playniax(Posted 2015) [#4]
I know of some in the works and we did: http://playniax.com/galaxy.html (was big project)
And recently a much smaller one: http://www.playniax.com/games/typoooh/

I think I can do about the same thing in Monkey as in BlitzMax but BlitzMax has more high level API's so for Monkey you will have to write more yourself or use 3rd party modules.

skape(Posted 2015) [#5]
"Crypt of the Necrodancer" was created with Monkey. That's pretty big and been pretty successful on Steam...

Leginus(Posted 2015) [#6]