How powerfull is monkey

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Discussion/How powerfull is monkey

Thursten(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi, I am fairly new to monkey and game development and I was wondering. How is monkey comparing to other SDK's like Loom SDK etc.
What potential does monkey have? And could some1 tell me what games would be possible to make with monkey?
Would games like angry birds etc be easy to make in monkey? Or is that a no go?

slenkar(Posted 2013) [#2]
Anything is possible
Angry Birds is just 2d graphics and physics,
there is a physics module someone made

Command line interface: Everything you will do is managed by LoomCLI, in your favourite terminal. I must say it feels pretty awesome to imagine you’re Hugh Jackman in Swordfish or Angelina Jolie’s best friend in Hackers.

Hmm Monkey can't make you feel like Hugh Jackman in Swordfish....sorry

Thursten(Posted 2013) [#3]
At this moment im going through the book of pakt publishing Monkey game development. But there isnt alot in there about the coding style. I was also wondering if there is any good book about the coding language?

Oh and thanks for the reply :)

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2013) [#4]
Loom SDK is based on the LuaJIT compiler, so it's committed to one technology, whereas Monkey is not. Monkey converts to the native code on a platform, so you will usually get the best possible performance.

Also, if there is a new platform in the future, or a new programming language, then Monkey is built to handle these changes. For example, it didn't take long to get Ouya support.

What potential does monkey have? And could some1 tell me what games would be possible to make with monkey?

Angry Birds? yes.
there also miniB3D to handle 3D, but don't expect Call of Duty.

Many of the libraries are handled by non-BRL volunteers, so there's that downside. Here's a list, but it needs to be updated:
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/modules.php

Thursten(Posted 2013) [#5]