Hello World

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Discussion/Hello World

Psychosanity(Posted 2012) [#1]
I just wanted to say a quick Hello to the community. Maybe get myself better known to the frequent faces of the monkey forums

Monkey is actually my very first programming language, besides using clickteam tools such as Multimedia Fusion and such.

I did manage to create a fairly large project (small game but 1 hour play-through) using just the monkey demo, using some help from what is on the forums, but asking for no help on my own.

I mostly want to say now that i've paid and registered that i'm a lurker no more, and would love as much help as I can get with my project

I'm actually relying on this game to pull me out of my hole and help me with some income, and I want it to be the best it can be, before releasing it to the android market.

I have a few questions, my biggest one has to be security. I'm very new to coding in general so i'm not sure if there are any kind of security precautions I will need to take? For example my game is sitting around on my website without any password protection, should the data folder be protected?

Also, I have questions about my games graphics. I see the games the rest of the community are designing and the graphics seem to blow mine away. I'm not a graphics designer at all and did my best at drawing and designing everything, do you think it's good enough? or How can I make them look better? Are there any tricks I am missing?

I'm just looking for advice, and I suppose I'm a little paranoid and uneasy about releasing my first game, I want it to do well, but I need to release it soon, i'm a little tight on cash.

If anyone wants to take the time to give it a good look-through I would be thrilled. I've already posted the game "Schizo Ballz" in the Monkey Projects section. A link to it is http://www.monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=2493 Thanks for any feedback or advice you can give!

therevills(Posted 2012) [#2]