Java - where to start.

Monkey Archive Forums/Monkey Discussion/Java - where to start.

Paul - Taiphoz(Posted 2012) [#1]
Sup all.

This year I plan to learn java, but starting with a clean slate, and knowing very little about it, where do I start ?

I need it all, I need tutorials on a good ide, and introduction to programming with it, hello world style, also with the intent to write games, so a game tutorial would be really good.

hope some of you have some advice and links, I installed net beans but its got so many options that without a guide I just felt swamped. :(

muddy_shoes(Posted 2012) [#2]
http://www.mindview.net/Books/TIJ/

therevills(Posted 2012) [#3]
I learnt (and I am still learning Java after years of using it*) Java using a text editor, I still think this is the best way to "learn" Java.

Once you know how it works, then learn an IDE like Eclipse or Netbeans.

* Yesterday I produced this code at work:

Float mass = bean.getMass();
if (mass < 1 || mass > 99.999) {
  displayMessage("Mass must be between 1 and 99.999");
}

Pretty simple, eh? But when I entered in a mass of 99.999 it displayed the error message... wtf!!
Samah pointed out that the literal value of 99.999 is a double and I needed to put it like this:
if (mass < 1 || mass > 99.999f) { 

D'oh!!!

Goodlookinguy(Posted 2012) [#4]
I'm in a Java class at the moment. I can tell you from taking this class so far that Java is an awful, awful language. I can't believe how many people like it. It just boggles my mind. If you plan to learn it, I strongly recommend finding a class at a college somewhere near by. Java has so many stupid little things in it that if you don't take one, it'll likely take you forever to learn about these stupid things. Sorry, this isn't really help, I just want you to be aware of some little stupid things I've come across. Good luck in learning it.

Here's the example:

public class Test
{
	public static void main(String args[])
	{