Little hg Help..

Monkey Archive Forums/Digital Discussion/Little hg Help..

Paul - Taiphoz(Posted 2013) [#1]
ok..

I have a project called T, which I am controlling via hg, but in all honesty I am a total source control noob, and would love some tips advice on the following thing.

At the moment I am simply committing my changes over time, commit often I think was the tip I read, so that's what I do, what I would like to try now however is a Branch.

I have some new code, those lines in my apps gallery, I want to implement those as bullet and ship trails but there is a risk that it might drop my frame rates bellow my target, so what I would love to try is create a branch, add this code to the branch and then only if it works, add it back to the main master.

Now saying all that makes me sound like I might actually know what the hell I was just talking about, but I really don't , have no clue what my next step should be or how to go about any of it.

I could go look this up in google, but I am dyslexic, and I have found that most things source control come with massive walls of text which just make my brain hurt in a way you probably cant understand. so what I would really love is a few simple steps that I should follow to try this.

well hope some one has the time and skills to throw up a reply. and thanks in advance.

Samah(Posted 2013) [#2]
When you commit, give it a branch name other than default. From then on, any commits will be based on that. When you're ready to merge, update back to the default branch and (if you're using tortoise) right click the latest changeset in the workbench and choose "merge with local". Resolve any conflicts and commit it.
I'd give you screenshots, but I'm on the bus.

Kalakian(Posted 2013) [#3]
The step-by-step for that (for Tortoise) is:

[Skip step 1 and 3 if you're not pushing to a remote repository]

1. Set your synchronise settings to allow pushing of named branches: