Purchasing Monkey and General Remarks.

Monkey Archive Forums/Digital Discussion/Purchasing Monkey and General Remarks.

hardcoal(Posted 2011) [#1]
I think its not right to supply monkey without a better Script Editor.
You pay enough money to receive a good Editor as well and not this old refined blitzmax Editor.
Also when you press build you must always choose the compile.
Whats so hard to make a tick box that will say 'Use this as default' for your preferred compiler.

Also no presets for prefferd styles.

The editor is kept simple so you will be forced to buy and editor as well..

Besides all that, Jungle editor is too expensive.

Take IDEAL editor and learn for to make a really good editor.
I wish someone would continue Ideal and make it suitable for Monkey
etc...

I am a Blitz3d programmer and I haven’t seen any mention of Monkey on the Blitz website. I just came across monkey by chance.
I was waiting for a blitzmax to have Android compiler.

therevills(Posted 2011) [#2]
Sorry to say but yeah Monk is really bad...

You know that there is a free/lite version of JungleIDE?

http://www.jungleide.com/?page_id=382

Monkey has a sub-forum on the Blitz website:

http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/topics.php?forum=201

hardcoal(Posted 2011) [#3]
Jungle lite is limited to 30 days.
Besides, why not implant into blides editor the monkey laungauge
To those who allready bought blide?

MikeHart(Posted 2011) [#4]
ROFL. Priceless.

matt(Posted 2011) [#5]
I provide free add-ons for third-party text editors to enable monkey support

Textmate (Mac), E! editor (Windows)
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=69

Sublime Text 2 (Mac, Windows, Linux)
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=593

The topic on blitz website that mentions this:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=94778

xzess(Posted 2011) [#6]
In my opinion the price is fair.
And yes monk ide is bad, but monkey itself is great.