Hi

Monkey Archive Forums/Digital Discussion/Hi

QuietBloke(Posted 2011) [#1]
Just wanted to say Hi to all here.
These forums seem quite quiet at the moment... early days I guess.

I've been a big fan of the Blitz languages over the years I've bought pretty much all of them !

I dont get much time for coding at home.. and as I do it for a living I go through phases where the last thing I want to do is power up the laptop when I get home yet alone write some code... but when I saw Monkey I just had to get it.
From what I see so far Im loving it.

QuietBloke

marksibly(Posted 2011) [#2]
Hi,

Yes it is a bit quiet!

Hopefully that means everyone's busy working on their projects...

DGuy(Posted 2011) [#3]
Yup, ... working like a mad-man re-coding my iOS app (originally written in ObjC/C++) in Monkey for inclusion in the NookColor Shop ASAP!!

(I haven't even had time to play a videogame or watch a movie in close to a month!)

Oh, ... and Welcome, QuietBloke ... :)

Hima(Posted 2011) [#4]
Welcome, QuietBloke! I suppose it's because people are true busy playing with Monkey, working on theirown game, coming up with extensions and helping Mark with bug reports and stuffs.

I haven't done much game coding lately either...just finished a whole week of iOS programming training. I also shamelessly promoted Monkey to the students :P

@DGuy
NookColor!? Monkey can build for NookColor target too?? :D

therevills(Posted 2011) [#5]
Ive noticed that a lot of coding forums are pretty quiet at times :P

@Hima, the NookColor runs on Android ;)

QuietBloke(Posted 2011) [#6]
Before I found Monkey I was working on writing games in Html5 Canvas. I managed to get a 95% working Asteroids clone working ( Needed to finish adding UFO's). All done with just lines ( no external media ). I got stuck trying to generate sounds in-code.