why is it sooooo hard to make things right?!

Monkey Forums/Monkey Code/why is it sooooo hard to make things right?!

hardcoal(Posted 2011) [#1]
I am trying to learn mojo
and hell.. there is not even one example of code.
when mark made blitz3d it was soo easy to learn but not here.
for begginers like me its an agony.
Nothing on the website that is dedicated for mojo.
no examples....
and not even one example on the reference.

Ive also looked on the internet. nothing...

I dont know how you guys are learning here but I cant.

did i miss something? is there after all a mojo section here?

therevills(Posted 2011) [#2]
and not even one example on the reference.

Most (all?) of the examples use Mojo, just check the Import statement in the file.

hardcoal(Posted 2011) [#3]
tnx ill check it out

matty(Posted 2011) [#4]
Hi hardcoal - I'm a beginner for monkey/mojo too, but have been coding in other languages for many many years. At first I thought the documentation was lacking but after a short time I feel I have a much better grasp of it.

Some suggestions, things that I found useful:

Play around with the language for a little while to get started first. Look through the sample programs.
Don't try and make a useful app to start with, instead make some simple html5 apps that simply print text to the console, testing out basic functionality to get used to the syntax for things like lists and the like.
Create functions and methods for actions that you think you will need, and then test them out using the "Print" statement to act as a simple kind of debugger.

One of the hard things is that the error messages can be difficult to pin down where the error is coming from..and even when you know the line it fails on it is sometimes difficult to see how it could cause it. Once again - keep playing with simple programs and learning the language.