Array index out of range + identifier not found.

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Array index out of range + identifier not found.

Crispy(Posted April) [#1]
Need some help, I'm fairly new to monkey x and I cant understand why this code wont run. It started by giving me the array index out of range for my projectile array when a new projectile was fired (line 211). Then while attempting to fix it, it has begun saying that the Player identifier cannot be found on line 253 and has stopped compiling at all. If I've missed any sections out or if you have any tips, please enlighten me. I apologise for the general poor presentation and such :/

Gerry Quinn(Posted April) [#2]
Player is a field of the single StarshipBastion instance. Projectile needs to be able to find it. I made a global theSB:StarshipBastion which allows it to do so. Projectile can now access theSB.Player.

I also renamed projectileArray to projectiles ('cos it's not an array...). It has to be initialised (done in OnCreate() ). Also, Lists don't have a Length() property. You can call Count() to count the elements, but anyway what you wanted was AddLast() instead.

(Array index out of range happened because arrays have a fixed size. Trying to access the element at length+1 causes this error. Lists can grow freely, and a Stack would also work.)

It runs now but the screen is blank as you aren't creating any projectiles.

Gerry Quinn(Posted April) [#3]
Another problem I just noticed glancing at the code: you are loading a copy of the same image into each projectile. You only want one image for all projectiles. Again, can be a global.

Crispy(Posted April) [#4]
Thank you so much! I would've never been able to see what I did wrong on my own.

Crispy(Posted April) [#5]