Implementing a matrix into my game

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Implementing a matrix into my game

elite_dtn(Posted 2017) [#1]
I'm creating a platform game which uses tiles and a txt file to create my map with, i was just wondering what is the easiest way of having a camera following my player and only displaying a small bit of my map. How would it move the tiles and load the next bit of my level? I'm new to monkey-x so any help would be greatly received:)

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2017) [#2]
Usually for platform games we don't think in terms of matrices. If your tiles are a 2D array, and the player is at (px,py), and your screen is 11 x 11 tiles, you might draw something like:

Here xCentre and yCentre are screen coordinates of the centre of your viewing area, and wTile and hTile are the width and height of a tile.

This would draw an 11 x 11 block of tiles centred on the player.

Later on you might want to tweak this, with smooth scrolling, and perhaps showing more of the level in the direction the player is currently pointing.

elite_dtn(Posted 2017) [#3]
Thank you for the help!, okay that makes sense. Would this go in my on render method of my main game class or in my level class?

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2017) [#4]
The rendering method of the app ultimately calls everything that gets drawn. That applies whether it's drawing everything in detail, or just calling gameWindow.Render() which in turn draws things in detail, or itself calls rendering methods of other classes (sprites, animated score values, maps, whatever). It all depends on how you want to organise things, which depends on personal preferences and the size of your project.