Understanding Isometrics from scratch?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Understanding Isometrics from scratch?

RedGTurtlepa(Posted 2016) [#1]
Anyone have tutorials, guides, or famous books on this subject?

I need to understand how to do the following:

1. Build my own isometric world from scratch, but not just project graphics.

2. Understanding how to navigate it, and also pathfind in it.

3. understand how collision detection works in it.

I'm a noob at this.

Pakz(Posted 2016) [#2]
There is a book called isometric game programming with direct x 7.

I did pathfinding with isometric and it is not different than with 2d. Array x,y. Just the tiles are rotated rectangles on the screen. 2d is also just rectangles.

For the collision you could use collision maps. Arrays where the area that the collision needs to be done can be found on. 1 value on the field is true collision. You could make a mask array for each tile/graphic.

On the google books search site you could probably find more info from books.

It is not a bad investement to buy books on the subject.

I have a isometric collision example in the tutorial forum.

RedGTurtlepa(Posted 2016) [#3]
thanks, when you say collision mask that is stored, in an arraym, every frame you update you store its new change in position, and offset the values of the mask, or what?
(base_pos + offsetmask)

(nice website by the way, I like the changes, makes it much easier to see the examples than before 10/10)

Gerry Quinn(Posted 2016) [#4]
Most isometric worlds are just the same to navigate as flat tiled maps. And when they have a third dimension, you can still use the same pathfinding algorithms extended to 3D. [Your most basic isometric world is just a flat map with fancy graphics - no different from a chess game in 3D as distinct from 2D graphics.)