Need your advice for board game project

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Need your advice for board game project

Corné(Posted 2016) [#1]
Greetings! I'm keen to build a prototype board game and was hoping the Monkey community (tribe!?) can give me a few pointers please. I have some coding experience (though rusty) and am looking to put something fairly quick & dirty together. Here's some background :

The high level concept is to have a static 2d board (play area) which may or may not exceed the screen area (so panning may be required, but I can do without at first). Then I need to be able to move tokens (sprites?) around on the board. Think of something like the board game "Risk" and you have a good idea.

The board is divided into "zones", so I also need a way to recognize which zone a token is being moved/dropped to/from. The challenge is that my board (map) is a big bmp/jpg essentially and not a structured tile type area - so figuring out a way to know exactly which "zone" a token is being dropped (or picked up from) is a challenge. "Zones" on the board are not square/hex, but are effectively unstructured shapes bordering other unstructured shapes. If you have played games like Europa Universalis, you will understand what I mean - zones are countries/provinces/etc. on a map.

My questions for your input (pretty please):
1. Is Monkey even a good choice for me to use for this project? Do yo know of something more suitable? I do want to build in some basic AI and will do some list/array based data management - so I will need the ability to program some "intelligence" into the game, eg. a simple tabletop simulator won't give me the power to automate the things I want to. My programming experience is mainly with Basic / Blitz (not 3D) / Pascal / VBA / SQL.

2. Assuming Monkey is a reasonable development tool choice here, should I consider using Pyro as well? My game will need a few GUI controls and text - probably more than your typical "monkey only" type 2d game.