3D objects/extensions

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/3D objects/extensions

En929(Posted 2016) [#1]
First, I'd like to thank you all for all of your input on what tool set to use to get started on my journey of 3D game development. I looked into everything that you all said and did days of research on everything that was mentioned. I found the Mini3D module for Monkey-X and I finally got it to working and revert to Blitz 3D tutorials and what MidiMaster made online and it seems to be going alright. I've been experimenting with Unity 3D too. I tend to like both Tool sets and I think that they are interesting and it seems like I'm picking up 3D game development pretty quickly. Hey, it's pretty cool. I may investigate more openGL stuff later. But for now, since I'm still learning and some of my programming knowledge is still limited, I went with the above two tool sets for now; especially if I like and intend to make web games.

My question now is:

What types of 3D objects/extensions does Monkey-X accept? I made a 3D house in SketchUp and saved it under the ".3ds" extension (as is done in Blitz 3D), but it seems like I get a cube in place instead of the 3d house that I made. Thus, what types of extensions does Monkey accept for 3D objects. Thanks!

Danilo(Posted 2016) [#2]
MX does not have a built-in 3D-engine and does not support loading any 3D models,
so it depends entirely on the 3rd party engine you use.

Everything is possible. 3D data is just that - data within a file.
It highly depends on the engine what it can load (and animate), and what not.

En929(Posted 2016) [#3]
Danilo, thus, I was wondering what do people usually do to post their 3D objects into Mini3D or is that possible?

ImmutableOctet(SKNG)(Posted 2016) [#4]