Online Multiplayer in Monkey X?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Online Multiplayer in Monkey X?

potato(Posted 2016) [#1]
Hi, I'm new to Monkey X and I've found it quite fun so far. I used to use Unity, and I'm appreciating the additional freedom that Monkey X offers so I'm thinking of working with it. But, the project I'm working on is an online multiplayer game, and I'm not sure if Monkey X could do that. I didn't really like using Unity very much, but Unity has multiplayer and networking in the form of UNet. I never got around to using UNet (and I have no experience with networking in general, either, sorry if I'm asking a stupid question because of that), but there are a few Unity games with online multiplayer so I'm assuming Unity can do multiplayer fairly well. I found a 'simple networking library' called mnet in the module registry, but I couldn't find any additional info about it and there don't seem to be any games made with Monkey X that have online play so I'm not sure about it. So, would it be possible to make a multiplayer game with Monkey X? If so, how would I go about doing it?

ImmutableOctet(SKNG)(Posted 2016) [#2]
Woah, hang on, don't use MNet! For the love of all that is holy, don't use it. We've moved passed the dark ages.

Well, networking-wise, anyway. Maybe not for all-in-one game networking frameworks, though. Read this post I made about a month ago. That covers the history of Monkey's networking modules (For the most part; MNet was its own abandoned thing), and why you shouldn't use anything less than what we've got.

That post is pretty clear about choices, but here's your current list:
* 'regal.networking': This is a part of the "Regal modules" project (This is my module, click for an installation guide). Documentation can be found here, or locally by rebuilding your docs. (TCP and reliable UDP; feature list)