Monkey, Mojo, Pyro, ...

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Monkey, Mojo, Pyro, ...

AnotherMike(Posted 2015) [#1]
Hey there!

I'm a professional software developer (whatever that is) and I'm looking for an easy to get into "after work" development environment / language to create some 2D games. I have used some Blitz language many years ago and recently stumbled over Monkey X (marketing doesn't seem to be it's strong point). Does it make sense to go with Monkey now and move on to the (upcoming?) MX2 later? I have also read about Mojo (2) and Pyro. It has left me all a little confused... Pyro seems to be a game engine which utilizes the Mojo (graphics?) module and the Monkey programming language. Is that about right? I have played with other options like libGDX and Unity. While Unity seems very powerful I fear it would be just a little too much for my purposes. I don't care much about 3D. I kind of liked libGDX, it just reminded me too much of work being Java and all. ;)

My combination could be Monkey X Pro + Pyro (or just Mojo 2). Does this make any sense or should I just wait for MX2 to be released? I don't mind paying for quality software so cost is not an issue but it would be a shame to rewrite everything after a while because the original Monkey is not being developed / supported any more.

Any input?

Thanks!

Nobuyuki(Posted 2015) [#2]
Sounds good. Mx2 is planned to be more of a general-purpose language, but I believe mojo2 was written with it in mind. Pyro leverages mojo 2 as it's back-end. So you should be able you easily transition to it when you're ready.

That being said, monkey projects will likely require some minor porting if sufficiently large. No one knows yet just how different mx2 will be syntax-wise, but most people seem to agree that it's probably not going to be too radically different.

If you stick to a strict style and don't take too many shortcuts, your code will likely port over without much issue...

Karl(Posted 2015) [#3]