Obfuscate in game data?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Obfuscate in game data?

Xyle(Posted 2015) [#1]
Well now that I'm somewhat happy about encrypting my server communication, as TeaBoy has brought up in a separate thread, what good is encrypting the data sent or received from the server if a user can alter the in game data by poking with the memory?

There are a few options that I've seen so far

Diddys Base64 can be used to Obfuscate text within the game, a simple approach

AES Module can do the same thing, it also uses encryption methods with password keys to make it even harder to poke around with.

Now my questions is, like with Diddys Base64, what exactly do you obfuscate?
The variable name? So that anyone with a memory reader can't easily find your health variables?
The actual variable data? If health = 90, the user can look at the memory for either health or 90 and alter it accordingly?

Can anyone give some examples of proper use for this soft of thing?

I am very new to this, but after some not so very nice guy hacked one of my scoreboards, I am a bit more paranoid!

Thank you very much!

TeaBoy(Posted 2015) [#2]
Base64 isn't really a method of encryption, you encode to Base64 to send binary data via protocols that are not 8 bit clean.

Apart from some clever behavioural / genetic algorithms I think you may be fighting a losing battle.

[edit] What about coding your game in C++ then use http://kripken.github.io/emscripten-site/ perhaps this will deter those that are not truely hardcore lol, I don't know, is it really worth consuming your dev life?

muddy_shoes(Posted 2015) [#3]
While putting some simple obstacles like obfuscating javascript to stop mildly motivated 8-year-olds from "hacking" your game is reasonable there is no way to get around the basic problem that you can't trust the client. Pretty much the best you can do is to try to ensure that you can verify that a score is reasonable and that you have some way of responding to suspicious scores.