very new learner here -- Android assistance needed

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/very new learner here -- Android assistance needed

navyRod(Posted 2014) [#1]
Okay not sure if I should post this here or on Android.
But since I am just beginning will post here.

It sucks to be a new beginner and having to ask a lot of questions so I apologize for that.
Everyone has to start some where though.

I appreciate all the help I have gotten to my questions so far.

I admit I get over anxious and should scour the documentation to try to find an
answer before I post on here and I will try to be better on that.

One way I am starting to find out is to search the forum using the slow method on
search and just search for 'a a' in the search box in a particular topic area (i.e Android). This brings me up a huge list that I can scroll through.

For this particular question I just wanted some simple info on the steps needed
to side load an app to an Android device just to start off and not worry about
publishing it yet (have a ways before I can do that I am sure)

The help section for target SDK's lets me know I need the Android SDK etc but no
info on how/where to get them. I can do that myself but think some beginners
might not.

I have even purchased the Monkey game Development Beginner's guide and
chapter 4 ( The chain reaction chapter for Android) does a great job in explaining the
app but it doesn't explain the basic process of compiling the App and how to get it on
your device . There is a couple of short paragraphs but I think being a beginners book
it should provide more info.

What I think would be great if there is or if someone could develop YouTube video 's
or info files on here that detail the process for just getting your App on a local device
at a beginner level for each of the devices -- Android, Windows Phone etc .. vice
publishing -- then when the newbie such as myself :) is ready he can graduate to try
actually go on to publishing the app from there.