Eclipse Project Files

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Eclipse Project Files

erebel55(Posted 2014) [#1]
Very noob question, does Monkey generate any Eclipse project files when I compile as Android?

If so, what are there extensions and where can I find them?

Volker(Posted 2014) [#2]
Monkey creates .java files.
You can find them in your build folder under android/src/com ...

erebel55(Posted 2014) [#3]
Yep I found those, okay so I have to create a new Eclipse project using those. Sorry, for ios you just open up the xcode project; was expecting the same for android.

I guess it probably doesn't create the project files, because there are multiple IDEs you can use for android.

dawlane(Posted 2014) [#4]
You should be able to import a directory as a Eclipse project via the Project explorer.

erebel55(Posted 2014) [#5]
Can you be a little more specific? I'm new to Eclipse. Or just provide a screenshot.

dawlane(Posted 2014) [#6]
First thing you need to do is install the Eclipse ADT and of course the android sdk needs to be on your system.
As Eclipse can use an number of plugins for different programming languages and environments; each environment is know as a perspective.
The perspective commonly used for android is Java (default).

You have two ways to import a project if a perspective is not open. You cannot use New from the file menu until you have an open perspective.

1) Open a perspective Window->Open perspective->Other. This will open a dialog where you can select which perspective to use. There are two for Android Java(default) and DDMS (a debug device manager if I remember) .

After the perspective is open, there should be a tab that says Package Explorer (note in other perspectives this is called by different names, but it basically just points to the Eclipse workspace directory and will list all projects regardless of perspective type).
Right click on Package Explorer and it will open a import dialog box.