Developing non-game apps with Monkey X, good idea?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Developing non-game apps with Monkey X, good idea?

masterneme(Posted 2014) [#1]
Hello,

I just came accross Monkey X a couple of days ago. I'll introduce myself so you can understand my doubts better.

My name is David, I work as a hypnotist in Spain. I created a company with my brother and we are planning to create several audio and video programs. Because of my experience the content I'm designing is related to personal development, hypnotism, mind conditioning, and so on.

We will develop games in the future, but we will do it with Unity because they will be in 3D. But I was looking for something that allowed me to create some non-game apps and I have been researching all the Unity alternatives I could, and that's why I'm here.

I just want something that I can use to develop simple apps wich I'll use to promote my audios and as a complement for my clients. I can do it with Corona SDK or Marmalade, but they are quite expensive for this. I can design my apps with Unity fairly easily but they're "heavy" for what they are supposed to do.

Example: I just want an app with 4 or 5 meditation/relaxation audios that can be played whenever you want. So after you download it you start the app, and you get to a menu where you can choose which track you want, you select it and the audio starts.

With Unity I can prepare some scenes with custom backgrounds and stuff, but this kind of apps should spawn almost instantly, with Unity that doesn't happen. Well, that is not entirely true, in MY devices it starts fast (not instantly though) but I don't think that would be the same with lower end systems.

I've been thinking in some quit smoking and losing weight apps with tracking charts, I saw 2 apps made with Corona that do something similar, but I don't like Corona's business model. Could I do the same with Monkey?