Is it safe to say...

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/Is it safe to say...

En929(Posted 2014) [#1]
I’m new to the Monkey Programming language and I think it's brilliant that it can output code in the major platforms such as C++, Java, JavaScript, Flash, Consoles, and Lord knows how many other devices because of this. I’ve been programming games in Java, but I’m coming to the conclusion that I almost have no real reason to continue programming in Java if Monkey does all the above things and I am sort of considering abandoning Java programming and concentrate more time developing in this. This seems like a wave of the future and for all I know it IS the new Java, and since I’m a hobby game programmer anyway that likes making web games, and this monkey programming language does that and more, I don't see the use for other platforms now and top that with this language is sure to get better as time goes on for ANYTHING it would be needed for (is this correct)? So, do any of you think it’s safe to go ahead and abandon the other platform? That is, has anybody here done that?

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2014) [#2]
For game programming, Monkey is excellent. But I've actually started using Java + AvianVM + SWT for gui cross-dev development. quite impressive.

En929(Posted 2014) [#3]
AdamRedwoods, is that a particular program? BTW, I'm also wondering more about Java converter programs that could convert Java code into other languages with a click of a button.

Aman(Posted 2014) [#4]
Just keep in mind that no matter how good a cross platform tool get. It will never reach the efficiency of the native tools. You don't only gain advantages, you give up stuff too. It is up to the programmer to weigh the advantages/disadvantages and choose whether or not to make the move.

You could say Monkey to Java could be like Java to Assembly. Assembly will always be more efficient but the vast majority of developers do not think it's worth it. But some disagree.