How would you implement layers?

Monkey Forums/Monkey Beginners/How would you implement layers?

Gianmichele(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi everyone,

I'm really new to Monkey, and going through the invaderjim's videos which I find fantastic! I'm an artist(animator) with a passion for coding, so I always try to organize my code with the visuals in mind.

I'd love to create a few helper classes to create a sort of layering system, where I can add objects that would react to these layers.

From what I got so far using the push/pop matrix is the way to go, so I can have a master layer that controls the "stage" with resolution indipendence, etc and then a list of layers that gets rendered within this master layer to each of which I associate all the objects that I want.

Am I on the right track with this, or is there a different/simpler method I could use?

Thanks a lot.

Gianmichele

ziggy(Posted 2013) [#2]
If by layers you mean the Z-Order of rendering (place some images on top of others) I think your best option is to organize rendering order. You could create a class "stage" that has a collection of "layers" and each layer has a "render" method. Then call the "render" of each member of the "stage" class in the list order. That would be like rendering from back to front of a Z-Order.

Gianmichele(Posted 2013) [#3]
Thanks, that's exactly what I'm trying to achieve as well as some helper functions to create layers and set them up.

ziggy(Posted 2013) [#4]
This is a very very basic example on how this could be implemented. You can take it as a starting point to develop your own, if you like it:

Notice that the 2 sample layers are just a square and a moving circle, but a layer could be whatever. I mean, a single layer could be used to draw lots of elements, no need to create a layer per element.

Gianmichele(Posted 2014) [#5]
Thanks a lot. It is what I'm doing at the moment (more or less). It's fun getting into these things :)

Gianmichele(Posted 2014) [#6]